Latest News

Eu Reds: FC Dinaburg

While the wait for Cliftonville’s return to footballing action continues, continues a mini series of continental anniversaries by turning the clock back 14 years to a milestone afternoon.

For it was on this very day back in 2007 that a 1-1 draw with Latvian outfit FC Dinaburg set the platform for the first European success in the Club’s history.

A sodden Windsor Park played host to this InterToto Cup tie, which got off to the worst possible start when Jurijs Sokolovs fired the visitors in front before debut boy Kieran O’Connor pounced on a defensive error to smash his new side level.

Despite dominating the remainder of the tie and striking the woodwork through both Chris Scannell and Declan O’Hara, the Reds were unable to break down their 10-man opponents, who had Alexey Kostenko dismissed just before the hour.

Cliftonville: Connolly, Fleming, R Scannell, Johnston, O’Hara, McAlinden, M Holland, G McMullan, C Scannell, Murphy, O’Connor.
Subs: Kennedy (for G McMullan), Sweeney (for McAlinden), Friars (for Murphy).

Chris Scannell nets against Tiligul Tiraspol

And, if one Euro recollection isn’t enough for you, today also marks 20 years since Cliftonville faced Tiligul Tiraspol in another InterToto date at Solitude.

On that occasion, an early Scannell goal cancelled out the Moldovans’ first leg lead but red cards incurred by both Michael Collins and Pat Wall heightened the task en route to a 3-1 defeat in extra-time.

Cliftonville: Straney, R Scannell, Small, Adams, Donnelly, Mulvenna, Wall, Collins, C Scannell, McCallion, Treanor.
Subs: O’Kane (for McCallion), Downey (for C Scannell), Rooney (for Adams).