Latest News

All-island life

Cliftonville Ladies are to compete in an all-island competition comprising 16 sides from across Ireland this summer.

As Women’s Premiership Champions, the Reds will be one of five NI Football League representatives in the tournament, which will commence with a four-team group phase in mid-June and conclude with a decider on July 16.

“We’re delighted to accept the invitation from the FAI and the League of Ireland for our clubs to participate in this exciting new competition,” explained NIFL Chief Executive Gerard Lawlor.

“This is a ground-breaking season for Women’s football for us with the introduction of professionalism, therefore the challenge of competing against new opposition is hugely positive and exciting for the growth of our game.”

Cliftonville’s fellow Premiership sides Crusaders Strikers, Glentoran Women, Linfield Women and Derry City Women will also be involved, with the League of Ireland’s 11 entrants coming from Athlone Town, Bohemians, Cork City, DLR Waves, Galway United, Peamount United, Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne, Sligo Rovers, Treaty United and Wexford Youths.