Europa League 2019/20

Europa League 2019/20

Cliftonville will make their return to the Europa League this summer and, as ever, is delighted to present the web’s most detailed guide to our full list of potential Preliminary Round opponents.

The information below is the most accurate update as per the time of publication and is subject to continual amendment as the various domestic Leagues and Cup competitions across Europe reach their conclusions, which can sometimes have a knock-on effect regarding certain nations’ seeding stature.

Supporters are advised to make regular checks to this section, which will be periodically updated to reflect the latest standings, thus bringing a clearer picture as to the identity of Cliftonville’s European opponents.

What round will Cliftonville enter the competition at?
Cliftonville will enter the 2019/20 Europa League in the Preliminary Round.

When is the draw?
The draw for the Preliminary Round will take place in Nyon, Switzerland, on Tuesday, June 11.

Will Cliftonville be Seeded or Unseeded for the draw?
Cliftonville’s UEFA Coefficient of 2.500 means the Club assumes Seeded status for the draw.

Will the draw be regionalised?
No, it will be a simple open draw pitting Seeded teams against Unseeded teams, with the caveat that no sides from the same League can face eachother (meaning Cliftonville cannot be paired with Ballymena United).

When will the matches be played?
The first and second legs of the Preliminary Round are currently scheduled for June 27 and July 4 respectively, however these dates remain subject to change and supporters are warned against making any travel arrangements until advised to do so by the Club.

Will Cliftonville be home or away in the first leg?
That will only be confirmed after the draw and, regardless of which team is first out of the hat, ties can be rearranged at he discretion of the Clubs or UEFA.

When and where is the Final?
Wow, you’re optimistic! The 2019/20 Europa League Final will be played on May 29, 2019, at The Stadion Energa in Gdansk, Poland – to where there are, thankfully, direct flights from Belfast.

Preliminary Round

First Leg: Thursday, June 27 Second Leg: Thursday, July 4

Seeded teams
Europa FC (Gibraltar)
KI Klaksvik (Faroe Islands)
NSI Runavik (Faroe Islands)
La Fiorita (San Marino)
Prishtina (Kosovo)
Progres Niederkorn (Luxembourg)

Unseeded teams
Ballymena United
Barry Town United (Wales)
Cardiff Metropolitan University (Wales)
Engordany (Andorra)
Sant Julia (Andorra)
St Joseph’s (Gibraltar)
Tre Fiori (San Marino)