Latest News

Cup to the mark

Cliftonville Football Club were delighted to welcome some of our 1979 Irish Cup heroes as Guests of Honour for Thursday’s Europa League Preliminary Round victory over Barry Town United.

Forty years on from their iconic last-minute triumph over Portadown at Windsor Park, the legendary 79ers – who were the first Reds side to play in Europe – took the acclaim of the crowd in recognition of their recent addition to the John McCredy McAlery Hall of Fame.

Greeted by Chairman Gerard Lawlor and Honorary Life President Brendan Rafferty on the pitch at half-time, Peter McCusker, Ciaran McCurry, John Hewitt, John Flanagan, Eamonn Largey, Brendan McGuckin, Brian Johnston and Walter Mills received a rapturous reception from an appreciative Red Army, who still fondly reminisce about ther famous achievement some four decades later.

The team’s eight representatives are joined in the Hall of Fame by Manager Manager Jackie Hutton and team-mates Tony Bell, Marty Quinn, John Platt, Mike Adair and John O’Connor, all of whose legendary status has been further preserved in the story of Ireland’s Oldest Football Club.