Latest News

Fame game

Cliftonville’s Irish Cup winning heroes of 1979 will be the Club’s Guests of Honour at Thursday’s Europa League Preliminary Round second leg clash with Barry Town United.

Forty years on from their iconic last-minute triumph over Portadown at Windsor Park, the 79ers – who were the first Reds side to play in Europe – will be presented to the crowd in recognition of their recent addition to the John McCredy McAlery Hall of Fame.

Formally inducted by Chairman Gerard Lawlor during the Cliftonville FC Awards in May, Manager Jackie Hutton and his Cup Final players – Walter Mills, Tony Bell, Marty Quinn, John Platt, Mike Adair, John Flanagan, Brian Johnston, Eamonn Largey, Brendan McGuckin, Peter McCusker, Ciaran McCurry and John O’Connor – will have their legendary status further preserved when, along with fellow nominee Dr John Campbell, the Red Army will be given the opportunity to show their appreciation for their never-to-be-forgotten contribution to Ireland’s Oldest Football Club.